Thursday 05/04/2012 – Magpie

So today, while painting Sanguinary Guard, I had another attack of Magpie Syndrome.

For those of you who do not know, Magpie Syndrome is what we hobbyists call becoming distracted by something new and shiny, which inevietably ends up in a new project being started.

The cause of my flitting – a mini-tournament in June.

My Raven Guard are at a point where they’re almost done to a nice round total (~4000pts) and my Sanguinary Guard army is getting to the point where I’ll need a break from playing with them, lest I get bored again. This, of course, means a new project idea starts to form in my head. Well, it’d be A new idea if I was normal, but being me, it developed into four or five (or twelve) different ideas at once. None of those ideas were particularly pleasant army lists, nor were any of them cheap, but they’d all look really cool!

To give you an idea, we had:

  • Triple Razorwing/Reaver Jetbike Dark Eldar (Splintery pointy death!)
  • Aircav Guard (*sigh* again!)
  • Nurgle Chaos Space Marines (damn you Ben! *shakes fist*)
  • Grey Knights (*sigh*…just…*sigh*)

Of course, though the ideas sounded cool in my head and looked good on paper, I knew deep down that they wouldn’t work for me. So I went back to painting Sanguinary Guard. This of course, didn’t help any. My eyes kept jumping between codices and models, eyeing up potential combinations or things I could use as centrepieces. Of course, this led to me putting the paint brush down AGAIN and picking up another Codex. Did you know that fifteen Tau Pirahnas is only 900 points? This leaves 600 for HQ and Troops choices, plus upgrades.

NO! Bad Paul!

As you can see, I have a problem here! I have to wait upwards of six weeks for my new toys from Forge World to arrive. This means that until then I must fight off the Magpies! With a stick if I have to!

However, sometimes I feel like as I ward off the Magpie with my stick, it yanks it from my grip and beats me savagely until I buy something new and shiny. Hopefully the new paints arriving on Saturday will alleviate the temptation…

What do people think? If you have your own Magpie stories to tell, email me at theramblingwargamer@gmail.com or alternatively, message me on Facebook. 🙂

As always, thanks for reading! Tune in next time for my solution to Magpie Syndrome!

Oh look…Chaos Decimator…

Leave a comment